FBTBForums.net Forum Index FBTBForums.net

...has been nuked!

ChatChat    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Academic Decathlon!

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    FBTBForums.net Forum Index -> The Bantha Coffee Shop
View previous topic :: View next topic  
KungZombie
ZOMGpire!

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 11:17 pm    Post subject: Academic Decathlon! Reply with quote

Anyone here heard of it?

It's my first year competing on my school's team, and our regional competition (read: the first competition that counts) was this past weekend. We did well enough to qualify for the state competition as a team, and I was surprised to find that I was the #2 overall scorer individually in my division.

For those that don't know, AcaDec is an academic competition involving ten tests in ten subject areas based around a theme that changes yearly. This year's theme is more or less the ancient world, so studies involve the Art, Music, Economics, History, Math, and Language & Literature from the rise of Ancient Egypt and Middle-Eastern civilization to the fall of the Roman Empire (except for the Music, which focuses on music from the Classical era [Beethoven, Mozart, Haydn] and Math, which is generic math covering Algebra, Geometry, Trig, and Calculus). There's also an event called Super Quiz, which is a science that changes each year with the theme. This year's science was Astronomy, which is infinitely more entertaining (in my opinion) than Botany, the science that was covered in last year's curriculum.